Winter Cold Car Care Tips- a New Yorkers View!

During these extreme weather conditions everyone is searching for tips to make dealing with this cold weather easier.

Image

To give you some back ground on myself I was born and raised In New York, so I am no stranger to this cold, icy, snowy weather. I thought it may be a good idea to share some of the tricks I have learned throughout the years

Frozen Doors and Frozen Locks? Some old and new tricks

1)      A New York remedy that my family has always used is Bar Soap.  You just rub it around the frame of all the car doors and it will prevent it from freezing.  ( cheap and Simple)

2)      Cooking oil – I did a Google search to see if there  were any new tips I hadn’t heard of and I came across using cooking oil spray. The only issue I have with this is that I would assume it will leave a greasy residue.

3)      For Frozen Locks – I read about coating your key with Vaseline and it will help melt the ice in the lock.  Or you should be able to go to your local store and pick up some lock deicer. That is what my family and I have always done.  No greasy residue either!

ICY Windows

One thing I have seen which I had NEVER ONCE seen when I lived in NY my whole life and that was people stand their windshield wipers up, so that they are sticking straight up in the air to prevent them from freezing. Which in theory seems ok, but I don’t recommend it. I feel, since for the 26 years that I lived in New York I had never seen this done before there must be a good reason. New Yorkers deal with extreme low temperatures all the time and this was never recommended. I discussed this with others and the reasons they listed against this are: the wipers could blow off, or hit it and they fall right back down defeating the purpose, the wipers bend which could cause permanent damage to them which would cause them to not work properly, and the joint may end up freezing and then they are stuck standing up. I would say this is all up to personal opinion. But here are some other tips:

1)      Windshield deicer is a NY favorite. It’s a can of magic, just spray it on and let it do its magic. You can even buy a special blend windshield washer fluid that already includes it. This can sometimes help in the prevention of iced windows, but with extreme low temperatures spraying some deicer always does the trick.

2)      My Number one favorite Is, every vehicle I have owned up until the one I own now 😦  has had a remote starter. They are a life saver! Just start up your car, heat on high, on defrost, let it sit 10 minutes or so and most of these things won’t even be an issue.  If you do not have a remote starter then, if you can get into your car start it up manually, if you can not get in, follow these tips and you will have a less frustrating experience dealing with your icy cold vehicle!

 

For more tips or to purchase special cold weather accessories make sure to call our service department (502)-214-7073

At Oxmoor Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram  we serve all of our surrounding areas. Some of these include. Louisville KY, Shelbyville KY, Lexington KY, Elizabethtown KY, Clarksville IN and Jeffersonville IN. The list actually goes on and on. How far away are we? Don’t worry, No place is too far away for us to make you a great deal! We make deals over the phone all the time. Give us a call today to see what we can work out for you!

Oxmoor Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
4520 Shelbyville Road. Louisville K.Y. 40207
(502)-895-4520
http://oxmoorchrysler.com

Like Us On Facebook!
Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Pinterest

Subscribe on YouTube

Leave a comment